Rockabilly & Kustom Kulture Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newstead Antique Centre + other retro/vintage shops

4 posters

Go down

Newstead Antique Centre + other retro/vintage shops Empty Newstead Antique Centre + other retro/vintage shops

Post by My Little Rockabilly Kat Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:15 am

I don't know if it depends on where a antique store is situated - by the quality of the stock they sell- I guess it does..

Each weekend, when we don't have a show to sell at, we have decided to go hunting around all the stores looking for bargains
first we wen't to cleveland antique centre, i was eager to see the vintage clothing they had, so we headed up stairs
All the clothing was marked wrong, im no expert, but a bright purple taffeta shoulder padded dress to me is 1980's..not 1950's. and a price of $85.00 was a bit exxy then i tried on a 60's shift dress that was $28.00 (too small) that was marked 1980's, they were a little lost and the prices didn't follow.
i have learnt to tell what year/era clothing comes from by 3 things. the zipper and the label and the fabric.
Very Happy
We continued through the store, it was one of those large antique centres where they lease off cabinets to people so there was a bit of everything.
I looked in a cabinet full of brooches and every single one said 'Old Brooch' then there was a picture of a desoto on the wall and it said 'old car' then a table 'old table'.
ahha, i couldn't help but think.. when people go in to get things valued, will the store owner just look at it and go. "yep its old" and the person will just be like "well i knew that, thats why im in an antique centre, but how much is it worth" store owner "well because its old, its worth $20.00 but if it were really old $50.00
Then we visited the newstead antique centre, in a stunning red brick old wool shed from 1927. As soon as you walk in, you just know, they know what they are talking about.